A music audition is required as a part of the admission process.
  
Audition Dates
Wednesday, November 28, 2018 Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 5, 2018 Friday, March 15, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019   Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019   Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019   Saturday, March 30, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019   Tuesday, April 2, 2019  
Tuesday, February 12, 2019   Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019   Monday, April 15, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019   Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Saturday, February 23, 2019   Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019   Tuesday, April 30, 2019
**A campus tour can be arranged by appointment on the day of your audition** 

 Register Now

For additional questions regarding auditions, please contact Dr. Melissa Martiros, Director of Music, at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

Music Audition Guidelines 

Instrumentalists and Vocalists
Instrumentalists are expected to perform a classical solo; singers are expected to perform a song from the classical repertoire. You should prepare two or three selections that demonstrate the range of your technical and musical ability.  Prepare music that you know well, preferably two contrasting styles; i.e., slow, lyrical and fast, articulated.  Vocalists must provide their own accompanist or recording. For pianists: memorization is preferred.  For percussionists: prepare one solo on snare drum, the other on timpani or a mallet/keyboard instrument. 

Sight Reading/Sight Singing
You will be asked to demonstrate your music reading abilities on your principal instrument and voice.  Instrumentalists should be prepared to demonstrate major scales in their accomplished range. Your ability to match pitches, rhythms and to sing a familiar melody will be assessed.  

Interview
You will be asked to discuss your desire to major in music and your eventual career goals.

Long distance auditions
If you live four or more hours from the campus, you have the option to submit your resume and the instrumental/vocal audition requirements on a DVD or YouTube video. In addition, you will be asked to participate in a long-distance aural demonstration and interview. Please note, given the limitations of video auditions, the College reserves the right to require you to verify your skills upon arrival. 

 

Music Resume Guidelines

A music resume is required. Please send your music resume to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. with the following information to secure your spot. Attach the music resume as a Word file or PDF and include the following information. A reply will be sent detailing the audition time.

    • Name, address, phone, e-mail, name of high school, and high school music director
    • Number of years of private study on instrument/voice, names of private teachers
    • All performing experience (solos, ensembles, etc.) on your major instrument or voice
    • Music courses from high school, private lessons, summer camps or special programs in music theory, ear training, composition, improvisation, etc.
    • Music therapy applicants: list work, volunteer, or personal experiences with persons with physical, emotional or cognitive disabilities
    • Music education applicants: list volunteer or supervisory experiences that involved children or adolescents

 

Search